Thursday, June 10, 2010

Swimming at the Y

Luna is thrilled to be able to go to the YMCA and swim. She's been crazy with her card. The first day she had it we went to get Slurpee refills at 7-11. She pushed her Y card to the clerk trying to pay for her drink, like it was a debit card. Cute! I had her drill a hole in her card so I could string it onto a lanyard for her. (Love the yankee drill!) We tried a swim ring, but they don't allow inflatables at the pool. She is allowed to bring her noodle, though.


The last time we went, little miss was fearless. She was leaping from the edge of the pool towards her noodle or not as she chose. Dunking way down into the water and grabbing hold of whatever was nearest to get herself up to get air. Mike held her and they went under and up a few times. She's doing pretty well. I can't wait for next week's swim classes. Luna can't tread water strongly enough to keep her nose and mouth out of the water. We've been practicing kicking and cuppy hands. She did well opening her eyes underwater. Woot!

We're all getting some color to our skin from all the pool time. It's nice family time. Makes me really miss Steele, but there's nothing to do for it.

I'm having to split our time between the indoor and outdoor pools so we don't fry from the sun. I've got some really nice Neutrogena Sport SPF 70 sunscreen for us, but after a good hour plus in the water it needs to be reapplied. The hours they allow swimming are crazy stupid but it beats nothing, so I'm head down in logistics to try to get us there daily around all the schedules.
I'll see if I can get some good photos of swim class. It's crazy early, so I'm not sure my brain will be nailed on straight.

No comments:

Post a Comment