Saturday, May 29, 2010

The Lowes Racecar part 1



I took Luna to the free workshop at Lowe's. She had fun. One of the kids that she really likes from her VPK class was there, so that was super cool for her! We talked the supervisor out of a little Luna sized hammer since they did not sell the ones the kids were using and the new hammers were all new and shiny. We got one of the old wooden ones. She doesn't care, she has her own hammer!


I didn't want her to put all the stickers on her car so we could come home and paint it all cool for Grandpa. (It's going to be his Xmas present from Luna this year...)

The next post is going to be the painting photos.

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Edgar the Tomato Plant


Luna and I picked up a tomato plant at the flea market for $1 and decided to name him Edgar.


See the little green ball?


Eddie's a mommyyyyyy! He has his first little tomato. It's the size of a fat pea.
There are a good half dozen little yellow flowers that promise more fruit. I don't like tomatoes, but Monk and Mike do, so it's gonna be a fun summer for them. Yayyyy!



Dinosaur Ribbons

I'm just not getting tired of this.
Remember, if you click on the photo it gets large and if you like the blog, become a follower...

Here's the photo.....


Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Luna's first teacher's conference...

Mike got pulled to the side about Luna today by one of Luna's teachers. She wants to have a meeting. They tested Luna's word recognition and it seems to be eye gogglingly good. She is having issues with writing, however. They want us to come in to "brain storm" ways to increase Luna's grip to make writing easier for her.

Yay! We didn't get called in about her language! Well, kind of yeah, but in a good way...

Dang! One of the top three reason's she's in VPK is because she won't work on her writing with me. It's not just me, but that doesn't help her any....

More info after the conference.

Wish us luck!

Monday, May 24, 2010

Yeah yeah yeah, it's all about the cute...

Since I'm gonna beribbon a monkey for Kindergarten, it was time to get some ribbons.
Here's what I got...


Stripes, Hula Monkeys, Tattoo Skulls and Dinosaurs

Robots, Rockets, Hippy Owls and Brown Owls

And some more skulls!

This is gonna be so much fun.

Doctor visit today

The pollen is out and wreaking havoc with us all. Luna sounded horrible last night, even after a breathing treatment. This morning she started coughing yellow, so I took her to the doc.

For the first time ever she cooperated with the doctor. And then got chatty. She talked about flippy and feeding flippy... It was amazing. Got to watch a little kid milestone. Woot!

Hi antibiotics, been a while.

Friday, May 21, 2010

How to deal with uniforms...

Next year Luna's gonna be in uniform. Bright blue polo with the school name and logo in it and khaki bottoms -pants, skirts, skorts, shorts, capris...butt coverings. She gets to wear whatever shoes she wants and Fridays are jeans day with the School T-shirt.




To deal with the sameness, I've decided on hair ribbons. So I'm learning all sorts of how to make bows and ribbon this-and-thats. I found out how to make korker ribbons. They're the boingy spiral things. You're supposed to use dowels, but I had decently thick chopsticks, so that's what I used. All you have to do is spin the grosgrain ribbon on a chopstick to get a long spiral, clip it on both ends with wooden clothespins, hit it with some starch and bake it at 250 for 20 minutes. Let it cool and slide it off the chopstick (or dowel). Boom. Easy as heck. I can do this at night whilst getting my politics fix.


Here's a photo of my first try....


Whaddya think?

Splash Pad Fun!


Mike was off yesterday and he hasn't had a lot of quality Luna time, so we went to the Splash Pad in Orange City. It's free and lots of fun!
I'd love to grab Luna's cousin Natalie and go there so the girls can play. If we can talk Uncle Kyle into it, we'll see what happens.


Anyway, here's the pictures. I do have videos but the 2 video editing programs I have suck. One won't load .mov files and the other is insane complicated. I've used high end video editing suites and I can't get this program to work. Frustrating!!! When I get it together, YouTube is gonna blow up with some files.






Thursday, May 20, 2010

Summer stuff

I've been trying to pull off getting the kids into summer classes for years, but this year we might actually make it!


Swim Class!
Luna is signed up for swim classes at the Y. I wanted her to get in asap, so we got stuck with the parental punishment class. It starts at 8.10am and goes for 30 minutes. YIKES! I'm up at 6 or 7am, but getting her up before 8am takes lots of noise and many many kisses. (Makes her scream like I'm setting her on fire, but it is what it is...)

Art Class!
The local theater/art house has summer art classes. They're 2.5hrs long. It's a really neat program. We're applying for scholarship for Luna because chunking out $90 a week when we're running in a deficit is impossible. Hopefully it will come thru. I'm running late on it, though. Going to have to set m'self up with an email for next year to let me know when to hop on the bus.
Each session is one week long.
Session 1 is "Orient Express" where they explore asian art.
Session 2 is "Circus circus"
Session 3 is "Art-tastic Masters" where they explore VanGogh, Matisse and Warhol.
Session 4 is "Wonderland" Alice & chums.
Session 5 is "Myths and Magic" super woot!
Session 6 is "Wild things" which is monsters and stuff.
I have no idea if the scholarship will be for one week or all weeks. I'll have to ask em.

Theatre Class!
I'm calling here too asking about scholarships. They only have 3 classes for her age and they're at the same time as the art classes. Grrrr. This is a small town, folks. Try to talk to each other. The theatre classes are 4 hours long each. There's really only one or two that I think would catch her interest, so it all depends on what happens with the art scholarship. It's $80 a session. If we can't get a scholarship, I'm off to beg folks for $20. All I need is 3 or 4 people to come off of a slice of cheese and she'll be in. If I do get her in, I'll post when the recital is so we can get some Grandma/Grandpa in the audience....
June 28-July 2 - Session 1 - Once Upon A Time
July 26-30 - Session 3 - Perfect Pets!
(The other class is about Teddy bears, cute but she's more into spiders and bats)


Wish us luck!

Luna in her sunflower dress



I got her to sit by the honeysuckle arbor in the front yard. She wouldn't sit on the steps without squinting like there was a kleig in her face.

Grandma supplied the dress, a school chum's mom supplied the hair flower. She is starting to choose dresses and skirts! Yay!



Thursday, May 13, 2010

Welcome to YouTube

Ok, I finally got a YouTube Account set up for Luna. It's called VioletAvenger. DarthLuna and LunaViolet were taken, so that was the best I could come up with. I hate that numbers at the end of a name thing...I can never remember which numbers to use, it turns into a trainwreck. So, pbbbth.

Here's the link:
http://www.youtube.com/user/VioletAvenger

If that doesn't work, just go to YouTube and look for her channel "VioletAvenger" no spaces or anything...

I've got two vids posted right now, more to come I'm sure.

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Red bows in her hair

I'm experimenting with ways to do Luna hair for next year when she's in a uniform.
Had a buddy ask for better pics, so here they are.



Trampoliiiiinnneeee!

We recently have found ourselves the happy owners of a secondhand trampoline. Luna is crazy jazzed and asks to go on it at every opportunity. The new video camera is here and I'm gonna start going crazy with the videos.

For now, here's some photos....


Doesn't she look long? Like really, really big? Wow!


And she likes for Mike to get on with her. I'm not gonna subject a trampoline to my weight.


Since it doesn't have the safety features, I'm mildly spastic that one or either of them is going to wreck up and get hurt. Pops can see her from his back door and usually opens it up so he can watch - chanting along with Mommy "Stay in the middle!!"

The new videocamera takes ok photos, but not great photos, so I'm gonna have to invest in a camera anyway. We got a $160 videocam for $35, so I'm hoping I can do as well with getting a real camera. I gave my buddy back her son's camera, so it may take a bit for me to shake the funds loose.

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

The hat


Yesterday, Luna found her Yo Gabba Gabba Plex winter hat. It's wayyy too hot for such a thing, so of course she was determined to wear it. Another Mom @ her school saw it and fell out because her son had wanted to wear a winter hat that day as well. Kids am strange critters.

In the background you can see the spiderman pillowcase I made for her birthday.

I was able to get some crap photos of her new school. I'll wait until I can get better ones to post anything. This pic is at the fence outside of Boston Ave. Charter School.


I'm going to have to get Luna a new photo album, her old one is full and we're collecting odd albums that don't hold photos in a way that I like. Yeah, ocd whatever. I'm picky with my albums. Can't be a small album, those are for sending away to family. Needs to hold at least 200 photos, because I don't want to be buying a new album every three months... Makes me sad that Gwen's kids may have lost their albums. They were so proud of them.

We went to see IronMan 2 last night. It was the first movie that all 3 of us went to the theater to see together. Luna chose that over How to tame a dragon 3D. She did very well inside. Got a little fidgety, but wasn't yelling or jumping around. I remembered the booster seat this time. She got down on some Goobers - chocolate covered peanuts.
This was her dinner before we left for the movies. She dug it. No acceptable nutritional value. Eeek!

Monday, May 10, 2010

Blood!

Wow. Luna is goth. It's just like that.
She took a photo with the camera held to her belly.


This is the photo.

She saw it and ran to show daddy. "Look, Daddy! I got a picture of my blood!" Mike starts looking her over to see if she has any open wounds. Nope. The camera's flash shot light through her thin, pale skin and made the photo red. She's all happy that she has a picture of her blood. She saw the photo on the computer and started jumping up and down. "Look, it's my blood. My beautiful, red, juicy blood!"

Yep. What do you say to that?

Sunday, May 9, 2010

Summer Fun







Luna and the laundry

Lil Miss has become certain that laundry is one of her many chores around the house. I really haven't given her a chore because she demands to help with so many things. Why rock the boat, she obviously gets tanstaafl (There aint no such thing as a free lunch) and that it sometimes applies to her.

We have a special stepstool for her to be able to reach into the washer. She drags that thing around the house for reasons assorted and sundry, usually involving helping or trouble or both.

I was able to get some pics today, so here they are. (The date stamp is crazy wrong)



Mother's day 2010

For the Mother's day holiday, Mike and Luna made me sugar cookies. She wrote me a sweet card and made a recipe holder. They also got me a JVC 8mp sd camcorder, which will arrive a bit late. Better late than never! Woot! Somebody's gonna learn video editing real soon. Then she can post her own videos with minimal supervision.
JOY!

Anyway, here's the photo parade.


Luna's recipe holder





Super sprinkly sugar cookies

As a side note, today is the one year anniversary of the Tribe split.

Luna's Spiderman bike


We hung her bike on the ceiling to keep from massive toe injuries.
She took a pic of it as soon as we had a digicam in hand.